Hilfsnavigation

Logo EMR

Inhalt

Projects & Research


Research Portfolio

The research conducted at the Institute of Geology and Geochemistry of Petroleum and Coal is primarily based on three analytical pillars: Petrophysics ; Organic Petrology/ Coal Petrology and Organic Geochemistry; and Numerical Simulations of Sediment Basins (Profile LEK).

-> current projects

Petrophysics / Applied Physical Chemistry

This research department deals with the physical and chemical aspects of the formation and migration of fluids, liquids and gases in sedimentary basins. Questions concerning fluid transport in low permeable rocks and coals are investigated with experiments. Another focus of our research is in the field of thermal and microbial natural gas formation.

Our experimental equipment includes:

 High pressure discharge cells and mechanical compression to measure

  • Permeability coefficients
  • Gas diffusion coefficients
  • Capillary sealing efficiency (Gas breakthrough experiments)
  • Mechanical properties of rocks

 High pressure adsorption apparatus for

  • Individual gas adsorption on coals
  • Mixed gas adsorption on coals
  • High temperature pyrolysis to investigate thermal gas formation from sedimentary rocks

To conduct our experiments, the laboratory is equipped with analytical machines (gas chromatography, Rock-Eval Analyser), analysers and controllers, and laboratory computers. A mercury porosimeter and a machine to test specific surface areas (BET method) are available to petrophysically characterize rocks and coals.

Organic Petrology / Coal Petrology

In area of Organic Petrology / Coal Petrology, experiments on carried out on microscopically small organic particles to determine thermal maturity (vitrinite reflectance, spectral fluorescence).

These experiments serve to determine the temperature history of sedimentary rocks and of special importance, the source rocks for petroleum and natural gas. Moreover, the type of organic material is ascertained for facies/paleoenvironment studies.

Additionally, anisotropy and reflectivity of coaly particles and coke are examined. For this work step, we have 5 research-grade microscopes as well as many student microscopes.

Organic Geochemistry

The department Organic Geochemistry deals with environmental geochemical questions as well as organic-chemical analysis of oils, coals and organically rich rocks. Environmental geochemical investigations are concerned with anthropogenic pollution in groundwater and surface waters and their respective sediments.

To answer these questions, the primary assignment is to describe the organic contaminates in their occurrence, distribution and transformation/degradation. Experiments on fossilized materials also deal with the molecular aspects of the composition of the organic material. The goal of these investigations is to determine the depositional history and environment as well as the quality and fate of the organic material from its chemical signature.

Both of these sub-fields are connected by their common analytical method, such as structure determination through GC-MS and isotopic analysis of single bonds through GC-irmMS.

Numerical Simulation

Studies involving the numerical simulation of sediment basins serve to investigate petroleum and natural gas systems. These studies are usually done in cooperation with domestic- and foreign-based exploration and production companies. Additionally, these techniques are used to determine the thermal history and hydrocarbon formation in organically deformed areas. The input data for these simulations include a multitude of geologic, geochemical and geophysical data, which leads to a quantitative understanding of all relevant processes within the basin. For these simulations, we have the latest computers available as well as the software program PetroMod for 1D, 2D and 3D modelling.


Abschlußinformationen

Hilfsnavigation

Logo EMR

Inhalt

Projekte & Forschung


Die Forschung am Lehrstuhl für Geologie, Geochemie und Lagerstätten des Erdöls und der Kohle gründet im Wesentlichen auf drei analytischen Standbeinen, nämlich Untersuchungen im Bereich Petrophysik , Organische Petrologie/Kohlenpetrologie und Organische Geochemie sowie auf der numerischen Simulation von Sedimentbecken (Profil LEK).

-> aktuelle Forschungsprojekte

Petrophysik / Angewandte Physikalische Chemie

Dieser Forschungsbereich behandelt physikalisch-chemische Aspekte der Entstehung und Migration von Fluiden Flüssigkeiten und Gasen) in sedimentären Becken. Mit Hilfe experimenteller Methoden werden Fragen des Fluidtransportes in niedrigpermeablen Gesteinen und Kohlen untersucht. Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf dem Gebiet der thermischen und mikrobiellen Erdgasbildung.

Die experimentelle Ausrüstung umfasst:

 Hochdruck-Durchflusszellen und Prüfpressen zur Messung von

  • Permeabilitätskoeffizienten
  • Gas-Diffusionskoeffizienten
  • kapillarer Abdichtungseffizienz (Gas-Durchbruchexperimente)
  • gesteinsmechanischen Eigenschaften

 Hochdruck Adsorptions-Messapparaturen für

  • Einzelgasadsorption an Kohlen
  • Mischgas-Adsorption an Kohlen
  • Hochtemperatur Pyrolyseapparatur zur Untersuchung der thermischen Gasbildung aus Sedimentgesteinen

Zur Ausstattung des Laborbereiches gehören analytische Geräte (Gas-Chromatographen, Rock-Eval Analysator), Mess- und Steuergeräte und Laborrechner. Für die petrophysikalische Charakterisierung von Gesteinen und Kohlen stehen ein Quecksilberporosimeter und ein Gerät zur spezifischen Oberflächenbestimmung (BET-Methode) zur Verfügung.

Organische Petrologie / Kohlenpetrologie

Im Bereich der Organischen Petrologie/Kohlenpetrologie werden Untersuchungen zur thermischen Reife (Vitrinitreflexion, spektrale Fluoreszenzmessungen) an mikroskopisch kleinen organischen Partikeln durchgeführt.
Diese Untersuchungen dienen der Bestimmung der Temperaturgeschichte von Sedimentgesteinen im Allgemeinen und Erdöl/Erdgas-Muttergesteinen im Besonderen. Darüber hinaus werden die Typen des organischen Materials für Fazies/Palaeo-Environment-Studien bestimmt.
Schließlich wird die Anisotropie und Reflektivität von kohligen Partikeln und Koksen untersucht. Es stehen für diese Arbeiten 5 Forschungs-Mikroskope sowie zahlreiche Übungsmikroskope zur Verfügung.

Organische Geochemie

Das Arbeitsgebiet der Organischen Geochemie beschäftigt sich sowohl mit umweltchemischen Fragestellungen als auch mit der organisch-chemischen Analyse von Ölen, Kohlen und an organischem Material reichen Gesteinen. Umweltgeochemische Untersuchungen behandeln die stoffliche Beeinträchtigung anthropogenen Ursprungs von Grund- und Oberflächenwasser, sowie korrespondierenden Sedimenten und Bodensystemen.
Im Vordergrund stehen dabei molekulare Beschreibungen zu Auftreten, Verteilung und Transformation/Degradation organischer Kontaminanten. Untersuchungen an fossilen Materialien beinhalten ebenfalls molekulare Aspekte der organischen Zusammensetzung, mit dem Ziel, Information zu Ablagerungsgeschichte, -milieu und -bedingungen sowie zu Qualität und Schicksal des organischen Materials aus den chemischen Signaturen abzuleiten. Beide Teilgebiete sind durch eine gemeinsame analytisch-methodische Basis miteinander verknüpft. Zu den analytischen Methoden gehört u.a. die Strukturauflösung über GC-MS und die Isotopenanalyse an Einzelverbindungen über GC-irmMS.

Numerische Simulation

Studien unter Verwendung der numerischen Simulation von Sedimentbecken dienen der Untersuchung von Erdöl- oder Erdgas-Systemen und werden zumeist in Zusammenarbeit mit in- und ausländischen Explorations- und Produktionsfirmen durchgeführt.
Daneben werden diese Techniken auch benutzt, um die thermische Geschichte und ggf. die Kohlenwasserstoff-Bildung in orogen deformierten Gebieten zu untersuchen. Eingangsdaten für diese Simulation sind vielfältige geologische, geochemische und geophysikalische Daten, so daß ein quantitatives Verständnis aller relevanten Prozesse innerhalb der Becken erreicht wird. Für die Untersuchung stehen modernste Rechner sowie PetroMod 1D-, 2D- und 3D-Software zur Verfügung.


Abschlußinformationen