Hilfsnavigation

Logo EMR

Inhalt

Education


Information

The study of geology combines the knowledge of mathematic, physic, and chemistry, which are expanded in the first few semesters, with the investigation of a complex natural system: the Earth. On the one hand, basic, but fundamental, questions, such as the formation of the oceans, mountains, and life are discussed. On the other hand, practical issues, such as securing our natural resources or the foundation of a building, are handled.

The Institute of Geology and Geochemistry of Petroleum and Coal is concerned with two primary fields of investigations. The first focal point is the exploration and production of coal, petroleum and natural gas, including unconventional energy sources. We have many contacts to domestic- and foreign-based companies, at which many of our graduates are now employed. The second focal point includes the investigation of organic pollutants in our environment, especially in water and sediments.

More than 50 graduates from the LEK switched to the petroleum industry over the last several years. To find out more about your job chances as a petroleum geologist (job description: Petroleum geologist, you can read the article in the “Wirtschaftsverbandes Erdöl- und Erdgasgewinnung e.V.”


For further information, you are welcome to visit the Institute of Geology and Geochemistry of Petroleum and Coal.

Please contact: Dipl.-Geol. Philipp Weniger (philipp.weniger(at)emr.rwth-aachen.de)

The list of courses being offered is always current and binding as found in the Campus-System of the RWTH Aachen University: Link to Campus webpage

Professional group for Geosciences and Geography

Lectures for Georessource Management B.Sc.

Lectures for Georessource Management M.Sc.


Abschlußinformationen

Hilfsnavigation

Logo EMR

Inhalt

Lehre


Information

Das Studium der Geologie verbindet Erkenntnisse der Mathematik, der Physik und der Chemie, die in den ersten Semestern erweitert und konsolidiert werden, mit der Untersuchung eines komplexen natürlichen Systems: der Erde. Dabei geht es einerseits um so grundsätzliche und uralte Fragen wie die Entstehung der Meere, der Gebirge, des Lebens, andererseits aber auch um ganz praktische Dinge wie die Sicherung unserer Rohstoffe oder die Gründung von Bauwerken.

Am Lehrstuhl für Geologie, Geochemie und Lagerstätten des Erdöls und der Kohle werden im Wesentlichen zwei Fragenkomplexe behandelt: Zum einen bildet die Aufsuchung und Gewinnung von Kohle, Erdöl und Erdgas aber auch unkonventionellen Energieträgern einen Schwerpunkt. Hier gibt es zahlreiche Kontakte zu Firmen im In- und Ausland, in denen viele unserer Absolventen inzwischen beschäftigt sind. Daneben untersuchen wir organische Schadstoffe in unserer Umwelt, vor allem im Wasser und in Böden.

Mehr als 50 Absolventen des LEK sind in den vergangenen Jahren in die Erdölindustrie gewechselt. Über das Berufsbild des Erdölgeologen können Sie sich in einem Artikel des Wirtschaftsverbandes Erdöl- und Erdgasgewinnung e.V. informieren.

Weit mehr Informationen sind am LEK selbst zu erhalten.
Kontakt: Dipl.-Geol. Philipp Weniger (philipp.weniger(at)emr.rwth-aachen.de)

 

Eine stets aktuelle und bindende Veranstaltungsliste finden Sie im Campus-System der RWTH-Aachen: RWTH-Campus

Fachgruppe für Geowissenschaften und Geographie

Vorlesungen Georessourcenmanagement B.Sc.

Vorlesungen Georessourcenmanagement M.Sc.


Abschlußinformationen